99/140; LDF government on second mission


Kummanav, Suresh Gopi and Sobha Surendran lost
K Muraleedharan in the third position
KM Shaji and Ibrahim Kunju’s son lost
Of the contesting ministers, all except Mersikuttyamma won

In the red wave that swept across Kerala, here Kerala is once again leading the country. For the first time in the history of the LDF government, the UDF government was able to build a second mission with 99 out of 140 seats. Kerala has set a great example of secularism by locking up the BJP’s account which was opened last time. The LDF gained clear dominance in 11 districts. In Malappuram, the LDF retained the seats last time. The UDF was reduced to 41 seats.

The LDF captured six of the 47 UDF seats. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Ministers KK Shailaja, MM Mani, TP Ramakrishnan, Kadakampally Surendran, Ramachandran Kadannapally, K Krishnankutty, AK Sasindran, Deputy Speaker V Sasi, Chief Whip K Rajan and the recently resigned KT Jalil won again. Of the ministers, only J. Mersikutty’s mother failed.

BJP state president K Surendran, who contested in a double contest in Manjeshwar and Konni, lost in both the constituencies. Former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan, BJP general secretaries Sobha Surendran, PK Krishnadas, MT Ramesh, Suresh Gopi MP and E Sreedharan, who replaced Nemmat O Rajagopal, also lost.

Vadakara MP K Muraleedharan came in third. The LDF has made great strides in Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Idukki, Thrissur, Palakkad, Kozhikode, Kannur and Kasaragod districts. In Kottayam district the ground has improved over the last time. Only in Ernakulam, Malappuram and Wayanad districts did the UDF hold on at least a little.

Of the 14 seats in the capital district, 13 are for the LDF. The Congress was confined to one seat. The LDF captured Azhikode won by KM Shaji of the Muslim League and Kalamassery won by VK Ibrahim Kunju. P Rajeev of the CPI (M) won in Kalamassery. Apart from the BJP, parties like the RSP and the CMP also won zero seats.

BJP’s account closed
Kerala has closed the accounts of those who tried to destroy the secular mind by secretly and openly injecting communalism. The people have written the verdict that the BJP has suffocated the state by cutting off even the deserving central assistance. Neem, who won in 2016, abandoned them. The BJP was defeated in Palakkad and Thrissur. Pinarayi Vijayan’s words that the BJP account will be closed took over literally. Rajagopal had earlier told Pacha that Kummanam Rajasekharan would not get the personal vote he got.

The desire to bring down Metroman and get Palakkad neutral vote was in vain. BJP state president K Surendran, who competed in Manjeshwar and Konni and arranged a special helicopter, came third in Konni. Pathanamthitta LDF sweeps Sabarimala. The BJP has not touched the ground in Manjeshwar either. Suresh Gopi fell without any star effect in Thrissur. Sobha Surendran, who had seized a seat in Kazhakoottam, surrendered in front of Kadakampally. In the coming days, the debate over where the BJP’s votes went in many constituencies, including Tripunithura and Pala, will intensify.

Deshabhimani news is now available on WhatsApp and Telegram.

Click to subscribe to WhatsApp channel ..
Click to subscribe to Telegram Channel ..

Other news


Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

If you have any concerns or complaints regarding this article, please let us know and the article will be removed soon. 

Raise A Concern