News8Plus-Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Assembly: BJP MLA Ramesh Tawdkar elected Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly

Panaji: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Ramesh Tawdkar was on Tuesday elected Speaker of the Goa Legislative Meeting, a day after Governor PS Sreedharan Pillai took oath with Pramod Sawant as chief minister and eight different BJP MLAs as cupboard ministers. Days later, a two-day session of the Legislative Meeting was referred to as from Tuesday.

The ruling BJP-led group had fielded Tavdkar, who received the election by securing 24 votes. Opposition Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Revolutionary Goa Party candidate Alixo Sequeira bought 15 votes. On being elected Speaker of the Meeting, Chief Minister Sawant and senior member of the Home Digambar Kamat (Congress) took Tavdkar to the Speaker’s podium.

Within the lately concluded state meeting elections, the BJP received 20 seats, one in need of the bulk within the 40-member home. Three Unbiased MLAs and two MLAs of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) have prolonged their assist to the BJP. Congress had received 11 seats within the meeting elections, AAP received two seats, whereas Revolutionary Goa and Goa Ahead Party bought one seat every.

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

When you’ve got any issues or complaints relating to this text, please tell us and the article might be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern