Most Recent

Lok Sabha elections: BSP chief Mayawati changes her caste arithmetic, focus on non-Muslims in the first phase of UP

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president Mayawati has modified her coverage whereas deciding on candidates for the primary section of Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh.

As a substitute of fielding Muslims on Muslim-dominated seats in Western UP, they’ve now fielded candidates from non-Muslim communities.

The Lok Sabha seats in UP going to the polls within the first section embody Muzaffarnagar, Meerut, Bijnore, Kairana, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar and Saharanpur.

Within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had received seven of those seats and misplaced solely Bijnor to the BSP, which then contested the election in alliance with the SP.

Apparently, out of the eight seats the place voting is to be held within the first section, Muslims have a big presence in not less than six seats. Within the final elections, each SP and BSP had fielded Muslim candidates on these seats.

Nonetheless, this time, Mayawati has determined not solely to subject non-Muslim candidates on 5 of those seats, together with Kairana, Baghpat, Bijnor, Meerut and Muzaffarnagar, but additionally to subject non-Muslim candidates whereas deciding on her candidates, seat-wise. Caste arithmetic has additionally been considered.

By the way, SP has additionally fielded non-Muslim candidates on all 4 seats besides Kairana.

In Muzaffarnagar, the place Muslim voters represent about 30 per cent, the BSP has fielded Dara Singh Prajapati, an OBC, within the hope of capturing the votes of his personal group in addition to the get together's conventional Dalit group.

If Prajapati is profitable in getting the assist of OBCs, then the assist base of BJP's Sanjeev Baliyan could also be dented.

In Bijnor seat, the place Muslim voters represent round 40 per cent, BSP has fielded 'Jat' Bijendra Singh.

Since RLD, which is BJP's alliance accomplice, has fielded Chandan Chauhan, a 'Gurjar', Singh is predicted to get numerous Jat votes.

Equally, in Meerut, BSP has fielded Brahmin Devvrat Tyagi in opposition to BJP's Arun Govil, who performed the function of Lord Ram within the serial 'Ramayana'. The BSP candidate is anticipating the assist of fifty,000 'Tyagi' voters in Meerut.

Even in Baghpat, the place Muslim voters represent about 26 per cent, the BSP has fielded Praveen Bansal, who belongs to the 'Bania' group, which has been a conventional voter of the BJP.

Equally, in Kairana additionally, BSP has fielded Shripal Singh Rana, who comes from 'Thakur' group. If Rana succeeds in gaining the assist of voters from his group, BJP's prospects right here could also be affected.

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

When you have any issues or complaints relating to this text, please tell us and the article can be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button