Sunday, September 25, 2022
HomeTop StoriesPresidential Election 2022: Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the only President elected unopposed...

Presidential Election 2022: Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the only President elected unopposed in the history of the country

The nation’s seventh President Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the one President elected unopposed to the best workplace within the historical past of unbiased India. He turned the President in 1977 after the dying of Fakruddin Ali Ahmed. Ahmed breathed his final on 11 February 1977. A day earlier than this, the Lok Sabha elections have been held two years after the Emergency. At the moment, Vice President BD Jatti took over because the performing President. Meeting elections have been to be held in 11 states in June-July that 12 months and the notification for the presidential election was given on July 4.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy elected president unopposed

Nevertheless, 524 newly elected MPs of Lok Sabha, 232 members of Rajya Sabha and MLAs of twenty-two assemblies couldn’t vote within the presidential election as Reddy was the one candidate within the electoral contest. Nomination papers of 36 different candidates have been rejected. This election was undoubtedly held underneath uncommon circumstances, however essentially the most attention-grabbing election passed off in 1969. When Reddy, the official candidate of Congress defeated V V Giri.

Modification within the guidelines of presidential election

Indira Gandhi, the then prime minister, had known as for “voting with your conscience” in an try to shore up her opponents inside the get together. Over time, the principles of the presidential election have been additionally amended to stop candidates who should not critical about their candidacy and have little probability of getting elected. On the similar time, the style through which individuals approached the courts difficult the presidential election, additionally turned a matter of concern. After this, it was made obligatory for any individual contesting for the publish of President to offer a listing of a minimum of 50 proposers and 50 supporters to file nomination.

4,809 voters in sixteenth presidential election

There will probably be 4,809 voters within the sixteenth presidential election to be held on Monday, out of which 776 are MPs and 4,033 are MLAs. These embrace 233 members of Rajya Sabha and 543 members of Lok Sabha. There have been 5 candidates within the first presidential election within the nation in 1952, out of which the final candidate acquired solely 533 votes. Rajendra Prasad had received this election. Within the second election in 1957, there have been three candidates. This election was additionally received by Prasad. There have been solely three candidates within the third presidential election, however within the fourth election in 1967 there have been 17 candidates, 9 of whom didn’t obtain a single vote and 5 candidates acquired lower than 1,000 votes.

Strict adherence to secrecy in presidential elections

Zakir Hussain acquired greater than 4.7 lakh votes on this election. Within the fifth election, 15 candidates have been within the fray, out of which 5 didn’t get a single vote. The 1969 election noticed a number of experiments for the primary time, together with sustaining strict voting secrecy and permitting some legislators to vote in Parliament Home in New Delhi as a substitute of of their state capitals. On the similar time, for the primary time within the sixth elections of 1974, the Election Fee took a number of steps in opposition to those that weren’t critical about their candidates.

Presidential election: Poll papers of various colours will probably be issued for MP-MLA, there will probably be ease in counting of votes, so many candidates have been within the presidential election yearly

There have been solely two candidates on this election. Within the seventh election in 1977, 37 candidates had filed their nomination papers. On scrutinizing the nomination papers, the returning officer rejected the nomination papers of 36 candidates and just one candidate Reddy was within the fray. Within the eighth presidential election held in 1982, there have been two candidates, whereas within the ninth presidential election in 1987 there have been three candidates. On this election, a candidate Mithilesh Kumar Sinha had requested the Election Fee to place forth his views on All India Radio / Doordarshan, which was turned down. After this there have been 4 candidates within the tenth presidential election in 1992. There have been solely two candidates because the eleventh presidential election in 1997, when the safety quantity and the variety of proposers and supporters have been considerably elevated. (Language)

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

When you’ve got any considerations or complaints concerning this text, please tell us and the article will probably be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern

- Advertisment -

Most Popular