News8Plus-Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Rash elections: BJP loses four seats, will have to wait to reach 100

New Delhi | In April this 12 months, the variety of members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which reached the 100 mark within the Higher Home of Parliament, got here down from the present 95 to 91 after the biennial elections for 57 Rajya Sabha seats had been held on Friday. In response to the official web site of Rajya Sabha, the BJP presently has 95 members out of a complete of 232 members of the Higher Home, together with 57 retiring members. The retiring members embody 26 of the BJP, whereas 22 of its members gained the biennial election. Thus he has misplaced 4 seats.

After the elected members take oath, the variety of BJP members will come down from 95 to 91. That’s, the BJP should wait longer to achieve the 100 mark once more. There are nonetheless 13 vacancies in Rajya Sabha together with seven nominated members. After the appointment of nominated members and filling of vacant seats, the variety of BJP members can attain near 100. As a result of barring a couple of exceptions, the nominated members often affiliate themselves with a celebration (often with the ruling get together) inside six months of their nomination.

After profitable one seat every in Assam, Tripura and Nagaland within the Rajya Sabha elections held in April final, the BJP reached the 100 mark within the Higher Home for the primary time in its historical past. A number of get together leaders, together with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President JP Nadda, had termed it a serious achievement of the BJP. All 41 candidates in Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Telangana, Jharkhand and Uttarakhand had been declared elected unopposed final Friday following the announcement of biennial elections for 57 Rajya Sabha seats. Of those, 14 BJP candidates had been elected unopposed. The BJP gained three seats in Uttar Pradesh. From there 5 of its members had retired whereas eight of its members have been elected. The BJP received two seats every in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh and one every in Uttarakhand and Jharkhand.

Elections had been held for 16 seats in Haryana, Rajasthan, Maharashtra and Karnataka on Friday. Of those, the BJP managed to win three seats every in Maharashtra and Karnataka and one every in Haryana and Rajasthan. Because of BJP’s higher election administration, two candidates of the get together and an unbiased candidate backed by it gained in Karnataka, Maharashtra and Haryana though their probabilities of profitable had been slim. Thus, in these 4 states, the BJP received a complete of eight seats. Thus out of the entire 57 seats its candidates gained 22 seats. Karthikeya Sharma, who gained the unbiased elections in Haryana, was supported by the BJP and its ally Jannayak Janata Party. In Rajasthan, BJP had supported unbiased candidate Subhash Chandra however he misplaced the election.
Bhasha Brajendra

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

You probably have any issues or complaints relating to this text, please tell us and the article shall be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern