Sagardighi by-election 2023: Triangular contest between TMC, BJP and Congress-Left alliance in Sagardighi, Murshidabad


Sagardighi By-Election 2023: Voting will probably be held on Monday for the by-election for the Sagardighi meeting seat in Murshidabad district of West Bengal. The by-election is anticipated to be a triangular contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC), the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress-Left alliance.

TMC candidate bought greater than 50 % votes

TMC has been profitable this seat since 2011. TMC had received within the yr 2021 by a margin of about 50 thousand votes. It secured greater than 50 % of the overall votes, whereas the BJP and the Congress-Left alliance secured 24 and 19 %, respectively.

AIMIM ‘Votkatwa’ and BJP’s B-Workforce in Bengal, Mamta known as Owaisi ‘Dalal’ in Sagardighi, TMC fielded Debashish Banerjee, BJP fielded Dilip Saha

TMC has fielded native chief Debasish Banerjee. The BJP candidate is Dilip Saha, whereas the Left-backed Congress candidate Byron Biswas can be within the fray. This constituency is thought for its beedi trade. There’s additionally a sizeable variety of migrant employees right here.

Greater than 60 % of the inhabitants belongs to minorities

This seat has greater than 60 % minority inhabitants, about 18.5 % scheduled caste and 6.5 % scheduled tribe inhabitants. There are about 2.3 lakh voters on this seat. As a result of demise of TMC MLA and state minister Subrata Saha in December final yr, the by-election is being held on the Sagardighi meeting seat.

Nadia’s Trinamool chief shot useless in Murshidabad, stir within the space, accused absconding, these folks had campaigned in Sagardighi

TMC nationwide normal secretary Abhishek Banerjee and different prime leaders and ministers had campaigned within the by-election. Senior BJP chief Shubhendu Adhikari, nationwide vice-president Dilip Ghosh and BJP’s state unit president Sukant Majumdar campaigned for the election.

Shubhendu Adhikari stated – BJP will win by a report margin

Shubhendu Adhikari had stated, ‘If the elections are free and truthful, the BJP will win the seat with a report margin. The by-election of Sagardighi meeting seat will result in TMC’s downfall in future. Congress’s West Bengal unit president Adhir Chowdhary additionally expressed hope that his occasion would win the seat.

Fierce firing between two sides in Murshidabad, one killed, police arrested 4, 30 corporations deployed in safety

He stated, ‘Minorities have realized that TMC and BJP are two sides of the identical coin. The dying of scholar chief Anish Khan and instances of corruption will have an effect on this by-election. The Election Fee has deployed 30 corporations of central forces within the space to make sure free and truthful elections.

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

When you have any considerations or complaints concerning this text, please tell us and the article will probably be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern