News8Plus-Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Ten women on the left with ten

Thiruvananthapuram: With the historic victory of the LDF, a strong line of 10 women is now on the ruling bench in the Assembly. Ten of the 15 LDF candidates who contested won by a landslide. KK Shailaja made history in the case of the majority. In 2016, EP Jayarajan won more than 40,000 votes in the constituency with over 61,000 votes ‌ KK Shailaja won. Along with KK Shailajay, Veena George, U Praibha, R Bindu, OS Ambika, K Shanthakumari, Kanathil Jameela, J Chinchurani, Daleema Jojo and CK Asha are the other women MLAs representing the LDF in the House. Only KK Rema, who won from Vadakara, will be the only UDF representative in the assembly.

In the last assembly, the LDF had only eight women MLAs. Two of them were ministers. The Health Department was headed by KK Shailaja and the Fisheries Department was headed by J Mersikuttyamma. Mersikuttyamma competed this time too but could not win.

Despite having 12 candidates for the UDF, including PK Jayalakshmi, Padmaja Venugopal and Bindu Krishna, only KK Rema of the RMP, who contested in Vadakara with the support of the Congress, won. After 25 years, Noorbina Rashid, who contested in the Muslim League-Kozhikode-South, also lost. Nurbina’s candidacy caused a great deal of controversy within the League’s internal forts. But the League had no choice but to give up its candidacy. But not a single UDF woman candidate, including Nurbina, saw success.

Bindu Krishna, who won the Karanj seat, and Latika Subhash, the former Mahila Congress president who contested independently in Ettumanoor, lost. BJP National Executive Committee member Sobha Surendran suffered a major defeat. The BJP has fielded women in 20 constituencies.

In 2016, LDF’s KK Shailaja (Koothuparambu), J Mersikuttyamma (Kundara), K Aisha Potti (Kottarakkara), Veena George (Aranmula), U Praibha (Kayamkulam), Geetha Gopi (Nattika), ES Bijimol (Peermede), CK Asha (Vaikom) There were eight in the church. In 2016, not a single woman was elected to the Congress. The UDF got a woman member by capturing Shanimol Usman Aroor in the by-elections. But with Daleema’s landslide victory, the Congress lost that seat as well.

Patriotic news is now available on WhatsApp and Telegram‌.

Click to subscribe to WhatsApp channel ..
Click to subscribe to Telegram Channel ..

Other news


If you have any concerns or complaints regarding this article, please let us know and the article will be removed soon. 

Raise A Concern