News8Plus-Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Realtime Updates On Breaking News & Headlines

Vice Presidential Election: Manmohan Singh reached the Parliament House in a wheelchair and cast his vote

New Delhi | Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh reached Parliament Home in a wheelchair on Saturday and exercised his franchise within the Vice Presidential election. Singh had additionally solid his vote within the presidential election final month by reaching the Parliament Home in a wheelchair.
Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh additionally voted within the Vice Presidential election. Together with this, Union Ministers Jitendra Singh, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat and Ashwini Vaishnav, BJP Chief Whip in Lok Sabha Rakesh Singh, YSR Congress Party’s Raghu Rama Krishna Raju and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) MPs additionally solid their votes.

Polling will proceed until 5 pm, after which the counting of votes will happen. Nationwide Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate and former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar (71) is pitted in opposition to joint opposition candidate Margaret Alva (80) within the election for the publish of Vice President. With the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) having an absolute majority within the Lok Sabha and 91 members within the Rajya Sabha, Dhankhar has a transparent edge over his rival. He’s extra more likely to change incumbent Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, whose time period ends on August 10.

All MPs of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, together with nominated members, are eligible to vote within the Vice-President’s election. Each homes of Parliament can have a complete of 788 MPs, of which eight seats within the Higher Home are at the moment vacant. In such a scenario, 780 MPs are eligible to vote within the Vice Presidential election.

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

In case you have any issues or complaints concerning this text, please tell us and the article might be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern