Wednesday, November 30, 2022
HomeTop StoriesVoting begins in Parliament to elect the new President of Sri Lanka.

Voting begins in Parliament to elect the new President of Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka : Amidst the continued financial and political disaster in Sri Lanka, the Parliament is electing the brand new President of the nation at this time. Voting has began. There’s a triangular contest for the presidency. Lawmakers on Tuesday proposed three names, together with caretaker President Ranil Wickremesinghe, as candidates. In response to Sri Lanka’s Every day Mirror, voting has began. Ranil Wickremesinghe (73), Dullas Alhapperuma (63) and Anura Kumara Disanayake (53) had been the three names proposed by the lawmakers for the submit of President. Alhapperuma is a staunch Sinhalese Buddhist nationalist and a member of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) occasion. Chief opposition chief S. Premadasa has withdrawn his identify by giving assist. Dissanayake, alternatively, is a distinguished member of the leftist Janata Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP). Allow us to inform you, elections are to be held on July 20 to nominate the successor of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa within the nation. The brand new president will serve for the rest of former President Rajapaksa’s time period till November 2024.

Click Here To Join Our Telegram Channel

You probably have any considerations or complaints concerning this text, please tell us and the article might be eliminated quickly. 

Raise A Concern

- Advertisment -

Most Popular